plan A

July 16, 2006

So, the last time I lost any weight my regime was like this:

1. Food – my own Atkin’s varient – lots of bacon, all sorts of eggs, ham, burgers, miso soup, lots of water, many of those incredibly expensive fruit selections from Starbucks and supermarkets, one latte a day, some vegetables if unavoidable. Occasional croissant when sad. Occasional ebcb when required by circumstance.

2. Exercise – running around Regent’s Park. Big fan of John Bingham and his approach to just getting into the habit of getting out and doing something, even if you don’t run the whole time. Eventually managed to get up to about 40 minutes of running without complete collapse which was a triumph for me. (I managed to get out of cross-country at school by waving my inhaler around, I had slight asthma, much exaggerated to get me out of stuff. I’ve always been good at getting out of stuff, that’s why I’m quite enthused by this project, I can’t really get out of it.) Then I ran the 10K and started getting painful twinges in my knee which haven’t really gone away. That stopped me. Twinges came back when we did the Sport Relief Mile yesterday. Troubling. I imagine I will touch on knees more later.

3. Lifestyle. I was also doing that 10,000 steps a day thing, which I found very energising and easy. I could never find a pedometer I liked though, I lost about one a week, they would always fall off my belt.

So, since that seemed to work last time, that’s how I’ll start again.

Food – I’m going to use my phone to photograph everything I eat, because I suspect my calorie awareness will be enhanced by the risk of public humiliation. Lots of protein, not many carbs, nutritionists will go mad but I don’t care because they mostly seem quite quackish. My intake should appear in the sidebar through the magic of flickr tags. (Kinda like these projects highlighted by dearada)

Exercise – this may be my Achille’s Knee. I’m not sure running would be sensible, I’m going to try this evening, to see how it feels, but otherwise I may have to plump for swimming. I should go and seek advice at the gym or somewhere but I absolutely hate the way people in gyms talk to you, don’t listen to you, and can’t accept that you find their machines boring.

Lifestyle – I shall strap on a pedometer the minute the pedometer shop opens.

Leave a Reply

