if I’m going to have fry-ups, I’m going to have to run

July 15, 2006

I’ve never been fit. I’ve been a bit skinny, was fairly skinny through most of school. But started to plump out when I got to university. Been overweight to one degree or another ever since.

I’ve tended not to worry about it. I’ve liked the idea of being slimmer. I’ve had enthusiasms for Japanse clothing brands like w-taps which frankly weren’t designed for fat English blokes like me and that confronted me with my own corporality every now and then. But it’s not been a big thing in my life, a nagging vague concern.

But my son started running about and I realised that if I was going to keep up with him I was going to have to lose some weight, and I started working on all kinds of Nike running projects and I hated the idea of being the only non-runner in the room. So I started to go out and jog a bit, and eat differently and I lost some weight. Probably went from about 16 stone to about 14. Still overweight for my height (1.80m) but better. I could give up on the XXL t-shirts. And I managed to run a 10K, which was one of the most satisfying things I’ve ever done. And people said ‘have you lost weight’ and ‘you look good’ which was really rather nice.

That was probably about 9 months ago, and now I’m back up to 14.5 stone, not feeling so good about things. So I’ve decided to start this blog, because I find that if I blog about something, I do something about it too.

I’m not sure exactly what the plan is. Some varient of less food, more exercise, but I’ll post it all on here. For my benefit really, but if you want to follow along that’ll be nice.

9 Responses to “if I’m going to have fry-ups, I’m going to have to run”


  1. Great idea.

    There is a great inspiration, to your self and to others, in physical challenges.

    I don’t want to get all nerdy but do your own/use a heart monitor, makes all the difference?

    Look forward to reading how things shake out.

    I went from fit – to horribly unfit – to acceptably fit.

    I’m going running tomorrow!


  2. I don’t own a heart rate monitor. I take it you’d recommend one. Any particular model? Be grateful for any advice.


  3. They’re brilliant – letting you know how hard you’re really working (as opposed to just how shit you’re feeling).

    I used these guys who provided great service (and possibly the worst website ever)…

    http://www.heartratemonitor.co.uk/

    The one I use (Polar CS300) is for cycling as well as running, which I assume you don’t need. I’d mail them and ask them for some recommendations; the only thing I’d say is that it’s worth paying a bit more for a decent comfortable one – you’re going to be spending a lot of time with it.

    If you keep this up I think it could be a really great blog, and I’d venture the one that might make a fascinating book.

  4. Tim Says:

    I also recently committed to getting fit again – I’ve been reading around on your other blog, so I’ll be sure to check in to keep you honest.

    Might I also suggest swimming? I gave myself the big hairy audacious goal of a taking part in a triathalon – and the swimming part of the training has been the most surprising. All that water? the possibility of being seen in a swimsuit? Yeah, no thanks – but I picked up a book on the subject and have actually been enjoying it and seeing results.

  5. fernanda Says:

    what really helps me to go out and run when I am lazy (which is almost always) is to know that I have downloaded some new music in my iPod. Since you love music too, try to use it as a motivation to go walking/running everyday.:)

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Here you can find all kinds of Health and Personal Care Appliancesphilipsbrush.


  7. Hey there fantastic blog! Does running a blog such as this take a
    large amount of work? I’ve absolutely no understanding of programming but
    I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you
    have any recommendations or techniques for new blog
    owners please share. I know this is off subject however I simply wanted to ask.
    Appreciate it!


  8. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.

    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thanks!

  9. cheap items Says:

    I blog often and I really thank you for your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.


Leave a Reply

